We are pleased to advise that your application has been reviewed by our judging panel and has been selected as a Finalist for the 2013 APRA Professional Development Awards.

From the initial Top 200 we now have 36 Finalists across all categories – these Finalists will be reviewed again by our judging panels and the winners decided upon in the coming weeks.

Winners will be publically announced on the 25th of March.

Congratulations on such a great achievement – it truly is an example of your demonstrated skill within the industry and irrespective of the final winners, we wish you all the best with your future songwriting/composing endeavours.


Thomas Busby, Husky Gawenda, Matt Corby, Leah Flanagan, Jordie Lane, Morgan Evans & more on the final hitlist.

Today, 36 songwriters and composers have been announced as finalists in the 2013 APRA PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AWARDS (PDAs) and are now one step closer to becoming our next success story.

A panel of high profile judges including Jason Mraz, Josh Pyke, Gary Clark, Troy Cassar-Daley and Sam Hollander has given their initial verdict to arrive at an exciting list of composers who are in the running to receive one of eight PDAs when they are announced on Monday, March 25.

The finalists’ list features an intriguing mix of songwriters and composers including some that are already on the rise. From Matt Corby, Husky Gawenda, Thomas Busby, Leah Flanagan and Elizabeth Rose to experimental classical composer Julian Day, rising country music star Brad Butcher, screen composer Amy Bastow and Casey Golden who is making his mark on the Australian jazz scene.

With a total prize pool value of $240,000 this year’s winners will take home a life-changing package to the value of $30,000 including $12,000 cash courtesy of APRA. Winners will also receive a ‘Music Industry Consultancy Package’ that involves one-on-one sessions with Managers, Publishers and Music Industry business teams, so they’ll be fully set up to take their career to the next level.

Drum roll please for the finalists of the 2013 APRA PDAs:


(3 Awards will be given in this category including Pop, Rock, Blues, Folk, Hip Hop, Dance and R&B)

Andy Bull, Andrew Burford, Thomas Busby, Thomas Calder, Jack Carty, Matt Corby, Husky Gawenda, Georgi Kay, Jordie Lane and Elizabeth Rose

Julian Day, Nirmali Fenn, Alexander Garsden, Daniel Rojas and Chris Williams

Kristin Berardi, Sam Boon, Casey Golden, Steve Newcomb and Matthew Sheens

COUNTRY (please note votes in this category were tied, hence 6 finalists)
Chelsea Basham, Lachlan Bryan, Brad Butcher, Peter Denahy, Morgan Evans and Matt Scullion

David Barber, Amy Bastow, Tristan Coelho, Aaron Kenny and Joe Twist


Dewayne Everettsmith, Leah Flanagan, Nathan Lamont, Gina McGill and Warren H Williams

The winners of the 2013 APRA PDAs will be announced on Monday March 25th.

For more information including finalist bios and images, details on categories, prize packs and partner organisations, please visit: